top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassie Bardole

Worth Living For

I wanted so badly to fall asleep on my couch tonight instead of writing this. Not because I don’t think writing this is important, but more so because it feels like my life and everything in it is coming at me at 100 mph and I’m not running fast enough to keep up.

But this week, this is an important week. National Suicide Prevention Week. And I couldn’t bear to let it go by without posting something addressing it. My favorite organization, To Write Love on Her Arms, always has a theme for this week each year. This year’s theme? “Worth Living For.”


To be honest, there’s been several times in my life that I was in such a deep, dark hole that I couldn’t name anything in my life that felt like they were “worth living for.” All the things and people in my life that I loved seemed to be so far away and all I could see was the deep, cold darkness. A few of these times, the people around me knew that I was in that deep, dark hole. It was obvious. I think that is what most people assume suicidality looks like. Someone very depressed, withdrawn, visibly sad or in distress. Sometimes that’s true. But sometimes, suicidality doesn’t look like that. Sometimes it looks like someone fully functioning in their life. Someone smiling and saying that everything is “fine.” Someone that shows up to their job every day and seems “ok.” Unfortunately, there’s no one “look” for someone considering suicide.

This is why it is SO IMPORTANT to stop the stigma that surrounds mental health We need to normalize talking about mental health and feelings and asking for help. Being open and honest and checking in with those around you. Sometimes, the signs aren’t super obvious, but taking the time to have a REAL conversation with someone in your life that might be struggling can give them some hope, and open up a dialogue where you’re able to check in and throw a lifeline into the darkness that they’re wading through.

As I lay on the couch tonight on this cold, rainy day, I can name lots and lots of things in my life that are “Worth Living For.” I thought I would attach some videos and pictures to illustrate some of the people and things in my life that keep me going on even my darkest of days.

I encourage you to reach out to someone this week (more if you can!!). Ask them how they are doing and take the time to truly listen to their answer. Check in with people that you think may be struggling and make yourself available to listen. It may mean more to them than you think.


Here are some of the things that make my life “Worth Living For:”


Hearing his little voice say my name

dirty feet summer days

baby giggles

desert adventures

mountain views

puppy kisses

outrageous Christmas presents

Rocky snuggles

Gabe hugs

hammock time

Sunsets

combine rides

ISU games with my dad

travels north to see these faces

secret handshakes

new tattoos

museum painting impersonations

sibling potato gun shenanigans (an oldie but a goodie 😂)

letters from students

Kate & Cassie Carpool Karaoke

So, what makes your life "worth living for?!" ❤️

81 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page